Saint Helena’s diary

by Michel Dancoisne-Martineau

 

 

Saint Helena, day by day,  200 years ago.

 

Sunday 17 September 1820

Sunday 17 September 1820

On Sunday 17 September 1820, the Count de Montholon was in better health and went to visit Napoleon at 10 o'clock. He stays with his master for an...

read more
Saturday 16 September 1820

Saturday 16 September 1820

On Saturday 16 September 1820, the orderly officer informs us that in the morning he was able to observe Napoleon walking around his gardens in his...

read more
Friday 15 September 1820

Friday 15 September 1820

On Friday 15 September 1820, Napoleon reads until noon. He then takes a bath where he will stay until 3pm. Then, at 5pm, the general de Montholon...

read more
Thursday 14 September 1820

Thursday 14 September 1820

On Thursday 14 September 1820, Napoleon spent his morning wandering through his gardens and inspecting his newly transplanted trees. Unfortunately,...

read more
Tuesday 13 September 1820

Tuesday 13 September 1820

On Wednesday 13 September 1820, contrary to the appearances of Napoleon gardening and strolling often during “the first fortnight in September. The...

read more
Tuesday 12 September 1820

Tuesday 12 September 1820

On Tuesday, September 12, 1820, as winter was coming to an end, mature trees were transplanted to Longwood's gardens. Napoleon spent all afternoon...

read more
Monday 11 September 1820

Monday 11 September 1820

On Monday 11 September, while in London, the former governor of St. Helena, Alexander Beatson, presents his latest book "A New System of...

read more
Sunday 10 September 1820

Sunday 10 September 1820

On Sunday 10 September 1820, after the 10:00 am mass, Napoleon went for a walk in his gardens at 12:00 pm. He is accompanied by the Count of...

read more
Saturday 9 September 1820

Saturday 9 September 1820

On Saturday 9 September 1820, the French commissioner, the Marquis de Montchenu, again demanded from the governor that he be allowed to see...

read more
Friday 8 September 1820

Friday 8 September 1820

On Friday 8th September 1820, the Count of Montholon informed the governor that Napoleon wished to embellish his gardens with a section of "aromatic...

read more
Thursday 7 September 1820

Thursday 7 September 1820

After a day of reading, late in the evening of Thursday 7 September 1820, accompanied by General de Montholon, Napoleon left his gardens by taking a...

read more
Wednesday 6 September 1820

Wednesday 6 September 1820

the Marquis de Montchenu, the commissioner representing King Louis XVIII and since the departure of his colleagues, the emperors of Russia and...

read more
Monday 4 September 1820

Monday 4 September 1820

On Monday, September 4, 1820, the surveillance officer reports that Napoleon..: “was in the garden a Short time last evening. I saw him this morning...

read more
Saturday 2 September

Saturday 2 September

On Saturday, 2nd of September Count Bertrand forwarded to the Governor a letter, written and addressed by him, in the name of the Emperor, to Lord...

read more
Friday 1st September 1820

Friday 1st September 1820

On Friday, September 1, 1820, all gloomy at Longwood... everyone talks departure. The Count of Montholon wrote to his wife that like him, "Bertrand...

read more
Thursday 31 August 1820

Thursday 31 August 1820

On Thursday 31 August 1820, Louis Marchand saw a list of names on Napoleon's work table: Caulaincourt, Savary, Ségur, Montesquiou, Daru, Drouot,...

read more
Wednesday 30 August 1820

Wednesday 30 August 1820

On Wednesday, August 30, 1820, in the company of Montholon, Napoleon used his phaeton daily and did not return to Longwood until late afternoon at...

read more
Tuesday 29 August 1820

Tuesday 29 August 1820

On Tuesday, August 29, 1820, for once, the governor by the voice of the Commissary officer of the colony (Denzil Ibbetson) justifies himself to the...

read more
Monday 28 August 1820

Monday 28 August 1820

Monday, August 28, 1820, one of the beautiful days at Longwood. Napoleon's valet, Louis Marchand, would describe a few anecdotes like this one :...

read more
Sunday 27 August 1820

Sunday 27 August 1820

On Sunday 27th August 1820, as if to affirm the rumour of the departure of Lowe and the English regular troops from St Helena which was spreading in...

read more
Saturday 26 August 1820

Saturday 26 August 1820

“We understand that it is determined to diminish the expence of the establishment at St Helena. Sir Hudson Lowe, and all the land forces, are to be...

read more
Friday 25 August 1820

Friday 25 August 1820

On Friday, August 25, 1820, Napoleon feel good and goes on to his usual activities i.e. garden walks, reading and horseback riding. The daily...

read more
Thursday 24 August 1820

Thursday 24 August 1820

On Thursday 24th August 1820, Napoleon was in good shape. His doctor is not deluding himself as he considers that “The progress of the Emperor's...

read more
Wednesday 23 August 1820

Wednesday 23 August 1820

On Wednesday 23rd August 1820, Brigadier-General Pine-Coffin, Sir George Bingham's successor at the head of the island's military forces, arrived...

read more
Tuesday 22 August 1820

Tuesday 22 August 1820

On Tuesday 22 August 1820, Napoleon, in seemingly good health, strolled through his gardens and spent a few minutes gazing at the south-eastern...

read more
Sunday 20 August 1820

Sunday 20 August 1820

On Sunday, August 20, 1820, Napoleon put his papers in order... Concerning this period Napoleon's librarian, Ali, recalls: “It was around the middle...

read more
Saturday 19 August 1820

Saturday 19 August 1820

On Saturday, August 19, 1820, after reading "The Venetians", the discussion between Napoleon and Montholon turns once again around the author,...

read more
Friday 18 August 1820

Friday 18 August 1820

Letter by Charles Harrison addressed to General Bingham, 18 August 1820 “Napoleon is going on well, and has taken to riding again; he has asked for...

read more
Thursday 17 August 1820

Thursday 17 August 1820

Thursday 17th August 1820 - In spite of the trials which he had to suffer in so many ways the memory of his power was always a very agreeable dream...

read more
Wednesday 16 August 1820

Wednesday 16 August 1820

On Wednesday 16th August 1820, Napoleon, anxious still further to extend his limits, in order to obtain greater variety in his rides; and Count...

read more
Tuesday 15 August 2020

Tuesday 15 August 2020

On Tuesday the 15th August 1820, Napoleon celebrates his 51st birthday. On this occasion, Abbot Vignali serves a mass at the end of which Napoleon,...

read more
Monday 14 August 1820

Monday 14 August 1820

On Monday the 14th 1820, with horse-riding, Napoleon did not give up goat-shooting. One day he sent for a he-goat belonging to him, which the...

read more
Sunday 13 August 1820

Sunday 13 August 1820

On Sunday 13 August 1820, after a walk through the gardens and mass, Napoleon and the Count de Montholon rode towards the gum tree forest to the...

read more
Saturday 12 August 1820

Saturday 12 August 1820

On Saturday, August 12, 1820, the surveillance officer reported: “At ½ past seven this morning General Bonaparte and Count Montholon rode into the...

read more
Friday 11 August 1820

Friday 11 August 1820

On Friday the 11th August 1820, Napoleon “walked in the Gardens with Count Montholon. He had his Boots on and the Horses were in readiness but...

read more
Thursday 10 August 1820

Thursday 10 August 1820

On Thursday, August 10, 1820, while Napoleon was discovering from distance the southern landscapes of the island where the most remarkable...

read more
Wednesday 9 August 1820

Wednesday 9 August 1820

On Wednesday, August 9, 1820, Napoleon was apparently delighted by Lowe's initiative to widen his limits and the ordinance officer to report:...

read more
Tuesday 8 August 1820

Tuesday 8 August 1820

On Tuesday, August 8, 1820, Souvenirs of Mameluck Ali: "Being on duty, the Emperor rang me and asked me for a soup; he was in his bed in the room. I...

read more
Monday 7 August 1820

Monday 7 August 1820

Monday the 7th August 1820, the Governor agrees « for an extension of the limits on the side of the Island towards Rock Rose Hill, and round the...

read more
Sunday 6 August 1820

Sunday 6 August 1820

On Sunday, August 6, 1820, Hudson Lowe reported verbatim those of his surveillance officer: “I never saw General Bonaparte walk so quick and firm,...

read more
Saturday 5 August 1820

Saturday 5 August 1820

In the course of the conversation Count Montholon remarked that The Governor had shown so much courtesy and consideration in all that he had done...

read more
Friday 4 August 1820

Friday 4 August 1820

On Friday, August 4, 1820, Sir Hudson Lowe, worried by Napoleon's apparent sudden good health, justified in London the July days during which...

read more
Thursday 3 August 1820

Thursday 3 August 1820

On Thursday, August 3, 1820, the paradox was that the mere fact that Napoleon was doing better aroused the governor's natural suspicion. And this...

read more
Wednesday 2 August 1820

Wednesday 2 August 1820

On Wednesday, August 2, 1820, as during almost all of the month of August, Napoleon resumed horse exercise, and rode out very frequently with...

read more
Tuesday 1st August 1820

Tuesday 1st August 1820

On Tuesday 1st August 1820, the Emperor feels better and resumes his habits of early waking-up, and would frequently go and breathe the fresh air...

read more
Monday 31 July 1820

Monday 31 July 1820

On Monday, July 31, 1820, one of the most moving scenes of the exile took place. It was about Clémence, the daughter of the servant Saint-Denis and...

read more
Sunday 30 July 1820

Sunday 30 July 1820

On Sunday, July 30, 1820, Napoleon was definitely in better health and to the great pleasure of the Governor, the Orderly Officer could send the...

read more
Saturday 29 July 1820

Saturday 29 July 1820

Saturday, July 29, 1820 - Report of the doctor who visited Napoleon at 10:30 a.m. "Same condition as the day before. - Liniment. - Bathing. »At...

read more
Friday 28 July 1820

Friday 28 July 1820

In Longwood: Report of the doctor visiting him at 9:00 a.m. ½ A. M. - The emperor is better. The pain in the joint is completely gone; but the foot...

read more