Longwood
House

The will

On 10 December 1815, the emperor left The Briars – where he had experienced a few happy weeks – to move into Longwood, where he would endure the hardships of isolation, the weather and surveillance.

In accepting the choice of the Longwood residence, Napoleon never anticipated the violent winds that swept the plateau part of the year, torrential rains or fog. In addition, there was a shortage of water, and humidity ate away at fabrics and paper, and spoilt leather and clothing. Longwood’s only advantage was that the plateau was an ideal location for the troops to set up camp for their surveillance duties.

Napoleon languished in exile at the end of the earth, in the middle of the South Atlantic.

Longwood House is known internationally as the house where Napoleon, Emperor of the French, died on 5 May 1821. Its current appearance is closest to the house’s conservation condition on this precise date.

Longwood House in 1817, residence of Napoleon Bonaparte

The only items there to remind Napoleon of the splendour of the Empire were the porcelain tableware and the silverware.

The installation of Napoleon and his retinue required numerous repairs and additions to the existing buildings. The result was what we see today: an assemblage of disparate buildings that is more reminiscent of a camp than a residence. For much of his time there, Napoleon also had the inconvenience of having to put up with the noise and comings and goings of workers and various command staff. It was in this miserable setting that Napoleon lived out his final years. Five and a half years struggling with the humiliations the British administration subjected him to; five and a half years retreating into his memories, sharing his daily life with barely a dozen people, never being able to find true rest, sighing, playing out the final act of his life, being watched right down to the most insignificant actions of a life never surrendered, never giving in to resignation. He died a martyr, ‘murdered by the English oligarchy and their hired assassin’.

The precious items the Emperor had taken with him to the island have all been brought back to Europe by his various companions in exile. Today, these items are all part of national or private collections.

View of Longwood by Marchand

 

‘When I am gone, English travellers will sketch this garden created by Napoleon. They will all want to visit it.’

Napoleon

The gardens

Napoleon was proud of the gardens at Longwood House that he designed. He acquired a garden maintained by the British Skeltons and which included a rose garden. Encouraged by his doctors who wanted him to get some exercise, Napoleon only really began to take care of the gardens in 1819 and did so up until late 1820. Today the garden comprises a Chinese pavilion, grotto, gardening shed and gardens structured by sunken pathways outlining parterres of tropical flowers and numerous plants endemic to the island.

View of Longwood House from the flower garden

Napoleon’s final days and death

Napoleon ‘took advantage’ of his exile on St Helena to complete his undertaking to write his memoirs. On learning the news of his exile on the island, he asked Las Cases: ‘What can we do in that desolate place?’. To which came the reply: ‘Sire, we will live on the past; there is enough in it to satisfy us. Do we not enjoy the life of Caesar and that of Alexander?’

‘We shall possess still more; you will reperuse yourself, sire!’. And Europe’s captive agreed: ‘Be it so! We will write our memoirs. Yes, we must be employed; for occupation is the scythe of time. After all, a man ought to fulfil his destinies; this is my grand doctrine. Let mine also be accomplished!’.

Napoleon I dictating his memoirs

‘History is a set of lies agreed upon.’

Napoleon

On 4 August 1815, accompanied by three generals, a secretary and a few servants, he took his place aboard the Northumberland, which set sail towards the prison at the end of the earth. He landed there on 17 October 1815. Several weeks earlier, he had begun to dictate. This writing of history was only possible with the help of his companions in exile. After some hesitation, he selected generals Bertrand, Montholon and Gourgaud, then adding the councillor of state Las Cases, to whom he dictated sometimes in his bedroom – hardly ever in his small study with no fireplace – but mostly in the billiards room.

These memoirs are Napoleon’s own account, the end product of St Helena’s writing of history. They feature a well-defined structure – uniformly divided into chapters with subsections – and the rich, dense content is presented in a simple style, precisely and without witticisms, and is organised in chronological order. Positioning himself as a historian (who is never a neutral observer in any case), Napoleon wrote in the third person, referring to himself as ‘Bonaparte’, Napoleon’ or ‘the Emperor’. He skilfully blended detailed historic and documentary information – explanations that can sometimes turn out to be tedious (without losing the reader’s interest) – with justification for his choices and conduct.

 

Les derniers jours et la mort de Napoléon

The island of St Helena the Longwood residence are famous because Napoleon lived out his final moments and died there. Napoleon’s death may have highlighted the health problems he had been suffering from throughout his exile on St Helena, but he had actually been troubled by pathological disorders of varying degrees of severity his whole life – including obesity, fever, scabies and abdominal problems. In the first days of May 1821, a case of persistent hiccups exhausted an already ill Napoleon. Worried, the doctor Arnott enlisted the assistance of the doctors Shortt – director of the island’s healthcare services – and Mitchell, a navy surgeon. In the afternoon of the 3rd, Father Vignali spoke to the emperor and administered the last rites. To overcome the patient’s constipation, and despite the opposition of Antommarchi, the three British doctors decided to administer a massive dose of calomel (mercurous chloride). The medication caused a shock that considerably weakened the patient, and he fell into a comatose state. The death throes began during the night of the 4th-5th and ended on Saturday the 5th at 5:49 p.m. in the presence of all his companions, officers, priest, doctor and servants, just as the scene has been immortalised by Steuben’s famous painting. At midnight, the servants cleansed the body.

‘The death of Napoleon’, print

‘I die prematurely, murdered by the English oligarchy and their hired assassin; the English people will not delay in avenging me.’

Napoleon

Le testament

From 11 April, Napoleon locked himself away for long hours in the company of General Montholon and wrote his will. The main document was recopied and signed on 15 April. Up until the 27th, he had been writing or dictating a series of codicils (documents added to a will to modify it) in his moments of lucidity. He agreed to see Antommarchi again and instructed him to perform an autopsy on his body. On the 29th, signs of mental confusion began to appear.

Written between the 16th and 24th April 1821, the original will is now held in the French national archives. It contains the famous phrases: – ‘I die in the apostolic, Roman Catholic religion into which I was born over fifty years ago.’ – ‘I wish for my remains to repose on the banks of the Seine, amidst the French people I loved so well.’

The Emperor did not forget his companions in captivity. Montholon received 2.25 million francs; Bertrand and Marchand were to receive 950,000 and 500,000 francs respectively. To his last servants (Saint-Denis, Pierron, Archambault, Vignali, Coursot, Chandelier and Santini), he bequeathed between 25,000 and 100,000 francs. General Las Cases received a bequest of around 300,000 francs. Only Gourgaud did not appear on the list.

‘The death of Napoleon’, painting by Charles Steuben

Longwood
House

Le Domaine

Le 10 décembre 1815, l’Empereur quitta les Briars où il avait vécu des semaines heureuses, et s’installa à Longwood où il allait subir les épreuves de l’isolement, du climat et de la surveillance.

En effet, en acceptant le choix de la résidence de Longwood, Napoléon ne se doutait pas des vents violents qui balayaient le plateau une partie de l’année, des pluies diluviennes, et des brouillards. De plus, l’eau manquait, et l’humidité rongeait les tissus, les papiers, gâtait les cuirs et les vêtements. Le seul avantage de Longwood : le plateau était l’endroit rêvé pour installer le campement des troupes chargées de la surveillance.

Napoléon se morfondait en exil au bout du monde, au milieu de l’Atlantique Sud.

Longwood House est internationalement connue pour être la maison où mourut Napoléon, Empereur des Français, le 5 mai 1821. La présentation actuelle est celle qui se rapproche le plus de l’état de conservation de la maison à cette date bien précise.

Maison de Longwood en 1817, résidence de Napoléon

Les seuls objets qui rappelaient à Napoléon le faste de l’Empire étaient les services de tables en porcelaine et l’argenterie.

L’installation de Napoléon et de sa suite demanda de nombreuses réparations et des adjonctions aux bâtiments existants. Le résultat fut ce que nous voyons aujourd’hui : un assemblage de bâtiments disparates qui fait plutôt penser à un camp qu’à une résidence. Pendant une grande partie de son séjour, Napoléon avait, en outre, l’inconvénient de supporter le bruit et les allers et venues des ouvriers et des divers personnels de commandement. Ce fut dans ce cadre misérable que Napoléon vécut ses dernières années. Cinq ans et demi à se débattre contre les humiliations que lui fit vivre l’administration britannique ; cinq ans et demi à se réfugier dans ses souvenirs, à ne partager son quotidien qu’avec une petite dizaine de personnes, à ne jamais pouvoir trouver de véritable repos, à soupirer, à jouer le dernier acte de son existence, à s’observer jusque dans les actes les plus insignifiants d’une vie jamais abdiquée, à ne jamais céder à la résignation. Il mourut en martyr, « assassiné par l’oligarchie anglaise et son sicaire ».

Les précieux objets que l’Empereur avait emportés avec lui sur l’île ont tous été ramenés en Europe par les différents compagnons de l’exil. Ils sont aujourd’hui autant d’objets de collections nationales et privées.

Vue de Longwood par Marchand

 

« Quand je ne serai plus ici, les voyageurs anglais feront le dessin de ce jardin fait par Napoléon. Il n’en est aucun qui ne veuille le visiter.»

Napoléon

Les jardins

Napoléon était fier des jardins de Longwood House qu’il a façonnés. Il a récupéré un jardin entretenu par les britanniques Skelton et qui comportait une roseraie. Encouragé par ses médecins qui souhaitaient qu’il fasse de l’exercice, Napoléon ne s’occupa vraiment des jardins qu’à partir de 1819 et jusqu’à la fin de 1820. Aujourd’hui le jardin comprend le Pavillon Chinois, la grotte, la cabane de jardinier et les jardins structurés par des allées creuses délimitant des parterres de fleurs tropicales et de nombreuses plantes endémiques de l’île.

Vue de la maison prise du jardin fleuri

Les mémoires de Napoléon

Napoléon « profita » de son exil à Sainte-Hélène pour mener à bien son entreprise de rédaction de ses Mémoires. En apprenant la nouvelle de son exil sur l’île, il interrogea Las Cases : « Que pourrons-nous faire dans ce lieu perdu ? ». Il s’entendit répondre : « Sire, nous vivrons du passé ; il y a de quoi nous satisfaire. Ne jouissons-nous pas de la vie de César, de celle d’Alexandre ? »

« Nous posséderons mieux, vous vous relirez, Sire ! ». Et le captif d’Europe d’acquiescer : « Eh bien ! nous écrirons nos mémoires. Oui, il faut travailler ; le travail aussi est la faux du temps. Après tout, on doit remplir ses destinées ; c’est aussi ma grande doctrine. Eh bien ! que les miennes s’accomplissent ! ».

Napoléon Ier dictant ses mémoires

« L’histoire est une suite de mensonges sur lesquels on est d’accord. »

Napoléon

Le 4 août 1815, accompagné de trois généraux, d’un secrétaire et de quelques domestiques, il prit place à bord du Northumberland qui mit la voile vers la prison du bout du monde. Il y débarqua le 17 octobre 1815. Depuis plusieurs semaines, il avait commencé à dicter. Cette fabrique historique ne fut possible que par la mise à contribution des compagnons d’exil. Après quelques hésitations, il choisit les généraux Bertrand, Montholon et Gourgaud, auxquels il adjoignit le conseiller d’État Las Cases à qui il dictait parfois dans sa chambre à coucher, presque jamais dans son petit cabinet de travail qui était dépourvu de cheminée, le plus souvent dans la salle de billard.

Ces Mémoires constituent le témoignage de Napoléon lui-même, produit fini de la fabrique historique de Sainte-Hélène. Ils se caractérisent par un plan rigoureux, un découpage uniforme (chapitres, sous-chapitres), un déroulement chronologique, un style sobre, précis et sans saillies, un fond riche et dense. Prenant la posture de l’historien (qui n’est jamais, de toute façon, un observateur neutre), Napoléon y parle à la troisième personne, se donnant à lui-même du « Bonaparte », du « Napoléon » ou de « l’empereur ». Il mêle habilement l’information détaillée, historique et documentaire, les explications qui peuvent quelquefois s’avérer fastidieuses (sans perdre de leur intérêt) et la justification de ses choix et de sa conduite.

 

Les derniers jours et la mort de Napoléon

L’île de Sainte-Hélène et la demeure de Longwood sont célèbres car Napoléon y a vécu ses derniers instants et y est mort. Si la mort de Napoléon a mis en avant les problèmes de santé dont il souffrait durant son exil à Sainte-Hélène, toute sa vie cependant fut marquée par des désordres pathologiques plus ou moins graves (obésité, fièvre, gale, problèmes abdominaux). Les premiers jours de mai 1821, un hoquet tenace épuisa le malade. Inquiet, le docteur Arnott se fit assister par les docteurs Shortt, directeur des services de santé de l’île, et Mitchell, chirurgien de marine. Dans l’après-midi du 3, l’abbé Vignali s’entretint avec l’Empereur et lui administra l’extrême-onction. Pour vaincre la constipation du patient et malgré l’opposition d’Antommarchi, les trois médecins britanniques décidèrent l’administration d’une dose massive de calomel (chlorure mercureux). Le médicament provoqua un choc qui affaiblit considérablement le patient et le plongea dans un état comateux. L’agonie débuta dans la nuit du 4 au 5 et s’acheva le samedi 5 à 17 h. 49 en présence de tous les compagnons, officiers, abbé, médecin et domestiques, ainsi que la scène a été immortalisée par le célèbre tableau de Steuben. A minuit, les domestiques effectuèrent la toilette mortuaire.

« La mort de Napoléon », estampe

« Je meurs prématurément, assassiné par l’oligarchie anglaise et son sicaire ; le peuple anglais ne tardera pas à me venger. »

Napoléon

Le testament

A partir du 11 avril, Napoléon s’enferma de longues heures en compagnie du général de Montholon et rédigea son testament. Le document principal fut recopié et signé le 15 avril. Jusqu’au 27, il écrivit ou dicta une série de codicilles (acte ajouté à un testament pour le modifier) dans ses moments de lucidité. Il accepta de revoir Antommarchi et lui prescrivit d’effectuer une autopsie de son corps. À partir du 29, des signes de confusion mentale apparaissaient.

Écrit du 16 au 24 avril 1821, le testament original est aujourd’hui aux Archives de France. On peut y lire les célèbres phrases : – « Je meurs dans la religion apostolique et romaine dans le sein de laquelle je suis né il y a plus de cinquante ans. » – « Je désire que mes cendres reposent sur les bords de la Seine, au milieu de ce peuple français que j’ai tant aimé. »

L’Empereur n’oublia pas ses compagnons de captivité. Montholon remporta 2,25 millions de francs ; Bertrand et Marchand devaient recevoir respectivement 950 000 et 500 000 francs. Pour les derniers serviteurs (Saint-Denis, Pierron, Archambault, Vignali, Coursot, Chandelier et Santini), le legs se situait entre 25 000 et 100 000 francs. Le général Las Cases a reçu des legs d’environ 300 000 francs. Seul Gourgaud ne figure pas sur la liste.

« La mort de Napoléon », peinture de Charles Steuben